This is the official accessibility statement for the Destination: Australia website.

Under the Disability Discrimination Act 1992, Commonwealth agencies are required to ensure online information and services are accessible by people with disabilities.

The National Archives of Australia is committed to making its websites and online data accessible to the widest possible audience.

Standards compliance

The Destination: Australia website aims to conform to Double A compliance of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2 (WCAG 2.0), developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). As much of this website’s content is dynamic or community generated, some content may not always be accessible to the Double A level.

The Australian Government’s Digital Service Standard was consulted during the development of the Destination: Australia website.

The Archives regularly reviews Destination: Australia to ensure it continues to conform to accessibility standards as the website is extended and new features and content are added.


This website is designed for use in modern web browsers and it is not guaranteed to function correctly in older web browsers. We recommend visitors use one of the following free web browsers, based on their computer system and configuration:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 8 or later
  • Mozilla Firefox 3.5 or later
  • Safari 4.x or later
  • Opera 9.x or later

Further accessibility difficulties

The Destination: Australia website is the work of many authors and a dynamic environment. There is always the possibility that accessibility difficulties may be encountered. If you experience any issues please email or write to:

National Archives of Australia
GPO Box 7425